Image of the Day – 123

Today’s image is of deer on one of our sanctuaries in the West Country.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    gilesbradshaw said,

    Some of these deer may well be deer that I have dispersed from my woods. If an entire herd of red deer takes up residence in my coppice they can cause me big problems because they can destroy the shoots from freshly coppiced trees.

    Fencing the woods is impractical and shooting the deer, unless you shoot a large number makes little difference to how much damage the herd does.

    I choose to use a non lethal alternative to killing deer. It simply means flushing them out and dispersing them with my dogs.

    Controlling red deer on a small holding by shooting them simply does not make sense for me. All I need to do is disperse the deer from my woodland and discourage them from coming back.

    There is NO need for me to harm any animals.

    The Hunting Act says that flushing out of cover with dogs is exempt hunting but only if reasonable steps are taken to shoot the deer.

    To make matters worse in a ruling obtained by LACS enough guns must be employed to shoot the entire herd.

    This is completely and utterly wrong and I refuse to obey such a ridiculous piece of legislation.

    I am continuing to use my three dogs to flush deer in open and deliberate contravention of the Hunting Act.

    You are perfectly welcome to monitor me any time.

  2. 2

    acriticalfriend said,

    My initial coment seems to have disappeared…

    Are those these deer?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

